Benton Country was Formed

On January 3, 1835, Benton County was established.  

Missouri Counties Formed

On January 2, 1833, new Missouri counties, including Carroll, Clinton, Greene, and Lewis, were formed on this date. 

Three Counties Were Established

On December 14, 1818, Lincoln, Montgomery, and Pike Counties were established today.  

Old map with old compass.

Become a Missouri Life Ambassador

We’re looking for a subscriber in every county to become a Missouri Life Ambassador. What is a Missouri Life Ambassador? A Missouri Life Ambassador shares suggestions, information, and insights with the magazine’s editors. We encourage our ambassadors to share story ideas and calendar items, and to offer opinions­ on special projects so that every part of Missouri is included in our award-winning coverage.

The Bicentennial Quilt Project

Bicentennial project tells the story of Missouri.