January 3, 1903

A merchant in Ozark County reported that the drought had destroyed the grain and vegetable crops and some families were “subsisting almost entirely upon acorns.”

January 29, 1841

Several new counties were formed on this date including Adair, Andrew, Bates, Camden, Dade, Dallas, Grundy, Holt, Jasper, Osage, Ozark, Saint Clair, Scotland, Shannon, and Wright.