A. Ross Hill named President of the University of Missouri

On December 27, 1908, A. Ross Hill was named President of the University of Missouri on this date. He was responsible for much of the university’s growth, including building the “White Campus” and expanding the Extension Division, the Graduate Program, and the College of Education.

A basketball with the Missouri State Flag in the background.

January 14, 1906

On this date in Missouri history: The University of Missouri played its very first basketball game defeating Central Methodist. The overall record that year was 10-6 including two wins over Kansas. 

Another Heyday for Hemp

A once substantial Missouri cash crop makes a comeback.

Norm Stewart University of Missouri Basketball Coach

January 20, 1935

Pro basketball player and Mizzou coach Stormin’ Norman Stewart was born in Shelby County.

Memorial Union University of Missouri Cornerstone

November 29, 1922

The cornerstone was laid for the Memorial Union Tower at the University of Missouri. It is the last gothic structure that was erected in the United States.

October 30, 1900

The entire University of Missouri football team resigned. They were upset because the university was requiring that players be full-time students with good grades. 

Beetle Bailey Statue University of Missouri Mort Walker

September 3, 1923

Cartoonist Mort Walker, creator of Beetle Bailey, and loyal University of Missouri Alum was born on this day. Beetle Bailey’s Camp Swampy was modeled after Missouri’s Camp Crowder where Mort Walker had been stationed.  

Digging for Truth

Archaeological findings shape our understanding of the past.

University of Missouri Columbia Quad Columns

April 14, 1841

Established by the Geyer Act of 1839, The University of Missouri began accepting students on April 14, 1841.

University of Missouri Columbia Quad Columns

March 11, 1907

The University of Missouri Tigers met the Kansas Jayhawks basketball team for the first time. Missouri won 34–32. They played again the very next day and Missouri won 34–12.