General Order No. 11 George Caleb Bingham

August 25, 1863

Artist, George Caleb Bingham painted, Order No. 11. showing what General Ewing was doing with Order No. 11. Ewing destroyed the painting with his sword and Bingham quickly painted another. The result was that Ewing’s career was seriously damaged and he became one of the most hated men in the war. Read more about this in Tales From Missouri and the Heartland.

This post was contributed by Ross Malone. A historian and a retired school teacher, Ross has authored many books about Missouri’s history, weird facts, and folk tales. He has also written children’s historical fiction. Visit his website, and buy his books in the Missouri Life store.