Boone, Chariton, Cole, Lafayette, Perry, Ralls, and Ray counties were all formed on this day in 1820.

This post was contributed by Ross Malone. A historian and a retired school teacher, Ross has authored many books about Missouri’s history, weird facts, and folk tales. He has also written children’s  historical fiction. Visit his website, and buy his books in the Missouri Life store.

AdobeStock photo