Iron County was Established

On February 17, 1857, Iron County was established. A special act by the Missouri Legislature led to the formation of Iron County, carved out of parts of Dent, Madison, Reynolds, St. Francois, Washington, and Wayne Counties.


February 17, 1857

Iron County was established on this date.